5 thoughts on “First Impressions: Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun

  1. I just picked this one up as well (even though I already have way too much anime on my current watch-list and said I wouldn’t, haha). It’s not my favourite show of the season, but it does make me laugh out loud to myself – and I don’t normally do that even with comedies I actually like. I probably wouldn’t have thought to compare this to Love Lab (another show where I caught myself laughing out loud, a lot), but now that you mention it, I can’t help but agree.

    Like

    • I think Dogakobo (generally) makes really good decisions on what they choose to adapt, and it shows in both the quality of their work and in the varying similarities their different shows have to each other.

      Like

      • I honestly haven’t had that much experience with Dogakobo. So far, I think Natsuyuki Rendezvous and Love Lab are the only titles of theirs I’ve watched from start to finish.

        Like

  2. Just finished watching episode 4 (my story from the manga) and I am happy to report that the anime is faithful to its source, but adds hugely endearing details in the voice-acting and animation. The manga is a 4-koma, so while some of the shots my be inspired by that, there is a lot of space to fill to make up for quite an extreme change in format. It’s interesting to see the difference between this adaptation and the one they did for Azumanga Daioh (another 4-koma), which was hilarious in both forms, but I think suited the manga style better.

    Like

    • Yup, the voice acting is really great (Sakura’s VA still is the standout performer) and the animation has been—while not as active as the first episode—quite good through the rest of the show.

      I don’t really read manga, so whether or not the show is faithful to the source is pretty much irrelevant to me. I understand why people are about it, but for an anime-only watcher it’s a non-factor. 4-komas have had a pretty good record with me thus far, especially the way Dogakobo does them.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.